A sucker’s tale…

I must be the most accommodating son of a b***** that I know. 

A recurring theme in my life seems to be that I am taken advantage of. This is in part because I allow myself to be, and in part because others think, and perhaps know, that they can get away with it. A friend asks me to borrow money to help them get through the week … Alright sure I’m a generally helpful person, but… wait?! Didn’t I see you go wine tasting this week? <insert the numerous other examples of frivolous spending that I have witnessed> Why the hell should I have to front a person money to “get through the week” when they can’t budget? Don’t get me wrong, I will get my money back so perhaps this argument is neither here nor there, but I don’t think I should have to bail someone out who isn’t organized/budget-conscious enough to keep their finances in order. I’ve been down to my last dollar on NUMEROUS occasions through this never-ending stint called grad school, but you can be SURE I never asked anyone for a dime. If I don’t have money, I sit my ass at home with the heat turned down eating leftover’s leftovers. Have a little pride and integrity dammit! Am I right?

Leave a comment